Holiday Florida Abogados Espanoles
We take pride in providing the level of attention you would expect from a family-owned, family-oriented Holiday law firm. We treat every one of our clients with the same level of care and attention that we would expect if we were facing your same situation. Regardless of whether you have suffered bumps and bruises in a car accident or have been paralyzed by an act of medical malpractice, the personal injury attorneys and staff at Abogados Espanoles in Holiday will make it clear that we care about you. We’re on your side. Contact us to arrange a free consultation to talk about how we can help.
The law requires negligent drivers and their insurance companies to pay fair compensation to innocent victims for all of their injuries and losses. The Holiday Abogados Espanoles at Abogados Espanoles provide honest, aggressive and compassionate help to all their clients who have been injured in car crashes. Please contact our office today to speak with one of our car accident lawyers. There is no charge for the initial consultation and there is no charge for any attorney’s fees unless we win your case for you.
In a Car Accident, Do I Need a Lawyer?
Understanding Negligence in a Medical Malpractice Claim
What Does a Personal Injury Lawyer Do?
Car Accident Lawsuits
Car Accident Lawsuits
Is It Time To Call a Personal Injury Lawyer?
Accidents involving vehicles occur every day in California. If you have ever been in accident then you will already know how difficult it can be to cope with the aftermath involved with an accident. By taking time to learn the auto accident laws in California or the state you live in you will be able to avoid a great amount of the stress, which comes from not knowing what to do and not knowing what needs to be done next. Knowing the laws can help you understand how best to protect yourself when you are found at fault in an accident. Knowing the laws will also help you receive compensation if you are not at fault in an accident.
California requires all vehicle drivers to be financially responsible for any accidents they cause, and liability insurance is required for all the vehicles on the road in California. The liability insurance minimum should be able to cover at least 5,000 in property damage, $15,000 per person for injuries or death and $30,000 for all persons involved in the accident. Comprehensive or collision is not required by the state of California, however if you are making payments on the vehicle, your lender will require comprehensive and collision.
According to the auto accident law in California drivers have an alternative method in proving they are financially responsible for any accident they cause. If they choose not to carry comprehensive insurance on their vehicle, they can make a cash deposit to the California Department of Motor Vehicles in the amount of #35,000. If the driver owns more than 25 vehicles, they are allowed to submit proof of self-insurance to the Department of Motor Vehicles or prove they have a surety bond of $35,000 from a company, which is licensed and bonded by the state of California.
Should a driver in California be found primarily at fault in an accident there are several responsibilities they could be forced to pay for. Because of the monetary judgments facing a driver, it is an incentive for drivers to acquire and maintain insurance coverage on their vehicle. The state of California will award compensation for loss of wages and medical expenses to those who were involved in an accident where they were not at fault. The victims can also receive compensation for property damage or any other damage which was the result of the accident. The victims are also allowed by the state of California to receive compensation for mental anguish, pain and suffering caused by the accident. Many of the victims will consult with an accident attorney in California in order to receive the compensations the state is allowing them to receive.
Long-Term Effects of a Motorcycle Crash
Meaning of personal injury attorney
Reviews of personal injury attorneys
Why personal injury attorney?
Personal Injury Settlement Calculators
How do personal injury attorneys get paid?
As a personal injury attorney, I see car accident cases everyday. For me, and others like me, the process of handling such a case is not overly complicated -- after all, this IS what we do for a living.
But for most people, being in an accident, and more specifically, being injured in an accident, can be stressful and overwhelming. Should you call an attorney? Should you talk with an insurance company? What do you do about medical bills piling up?
Let's assume for the purpose of this article, that we have a rear end collision involving two cars, and that the Plaintiff (the person who was rear ended) suffers a neck injury, and hires an attorney. Let's also assume that the Defendant (the person who caused the accident), is insured with Company X.
From the Plaintiff's standpoint, the focus should be on his or her health. Getting medical treatment and working to get back to pre-accident condition is the most important thing, regardless of the case or any other factors. I always tell my clients to focus on getting well, and let me worry about the legal issues -- that's why they hired me in the first place. Once the Plaintiff reaches maximum medical improvement (a fancy and lawyerly way of saying they're injuries are better) it's time for the attorney to really dig in and get to work.
Of course, this is just a general overview of the big-picture process that most attorneys go through when handling a car accident case, but every case is different.
So with all of this in mind, why do you need a lawyer?
As a former insurance adjuster, I can tell you that insurance carriers pay more money to people who are represented by an attorney, which hopefully leads to you receiving more money in the end (yes, even after the lawyer takes his fee).
Secondly, everyone has heard the phrase, "Everything you say can and will be used against you... " and although that phrase is usually associated with criminal charges, it is still very relevant to personal injury cases. Insurance adjusters are master negotiators, trained to solicit information from you, and then use that information to save their companies money by paying you as little as possible on your case. A lawyer becomes your voice against the insurance company, and good lawyers know how to effectively communicate without compromising issues on your case.
If you've been injured in an accident, err on the side of caution and consult with an attorney about your rights before talking with the insurance company.
What is standard personal injury attorney fee?
Is It Time To Call a Personal Injury Lawyer?
Firing a personal injury attorney
How much do personal injury attorneys make?
Different Kinds of Personal Injury Claims
How to find personal injury attorney?
Dealing with a car accident in which you were not at fault can be a traumatizing and costly experience that has the potential to have debilitating effects on your physical, mental and financial well-being. Considering the fact that Texas personal injury cases have a two-year statute of limitations, taking care of your situation in a timely and efficient manner is vital.
Knowing your rights and discussing your situation with a qualified attorney, will make this process much more straightforward and less stressful, allowing you to focus on getting your life back together.
Types of Car Accidents
There are many different types of accidents that are eligible for personal injury claims due to the negligence or carelessness of another. Some of the most common accidents in Texas include:
- Low Speed Impact Crashes
- Rear End Impact Accident
- Head On Impact
- Side / T-bone Collisions
- Uninsured Motorist Accidents
- Whiplash Car Accident Injuries
- Defective Roads
- DUI / Drunk Driver Accidents
- 18 Wheeler / Semi-Truck Accidents
- Accidents where passengers are injured
As for the specific damages, Chapter 41 of the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code defines the types that are permitted in the state for a car accident lawsuit. Included are economic damages (compensation for any actual financial loss), non-economic damages (compensation for physical pain and suffering), exemplary damages (punitive damages for the defendant if they acted with gross negligence) and compensatory damages (additional economic and non-economic damages that may be rewarded).
According to §16.003(a) of the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code, the Statute of Limitations allows you to pursue legal action for a car accident or property damage up to two years following the occurrence. The same amount of time (2 years) also applies to those who suffered a bodily injury in the car accident.